RSS

Day Thirty-Five

04 Feb

Training to Run the Rock

We’ve come to the end of Week 3 of 46. According to MapMyFitness, I did 10.03 miles in 3.75 hours this week, for a total of 24.8 miles and 9.55 hours. My bathroom scales shows I’m down 1.8 pounds this week, 3.4 pounds total.

My progress is slow but steady. A few times I found myself hitting the great zone-out point where I forgot about all the mechanics of what I was doing and let everything just fall into place – my steps and my breathing fell into perfect rhythm.

I struggled a bit on Wednesday and had to really push myself to finish the workout. I think it was nothing more than my insomnia catching up with me. I’ve changed some of my evening habits to try to combat it. I try to eat dinner by 5pm (I know, I’m such an old person). I’m going to bed by 8pm, and I’m usually asleep by 9pm. When you consider that I get up at 5:30 every morning, those times aren’t that extreme.

I’ve decided not to run the Heels and Hills 10K on May 6th. Honestly, I just don’t know if I’ll be ready for that distance by then. I would rather take a little more time in training than try to push it and potentially hurt myself. Instead, I’ll be running the Free To Breathe 10K in Plano on May 20th, benefiting the National Lung Cancer Partnership. I’m also tentatively considering the Too Hot To Handle 15K on July 15th.

That’s all I have for this week. Next week the training gets ramped up, with runs increasing from 90 seconds to 3 minutes. This is the week I’ve been most concerned about. I keep reminding myself that I don’t know what I can do until I try, so Monday morning I’m just going to do it. We’ll see how it goes.

Countdown to the Make The Break 5K: 8 weeks
Countdown to the Free To Breathe 10K: 15 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 43 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
