RSS

Day Forty-Nine

18 Feb

Training to Run the Rock

Week 5 – Done! This week I did 4.33 miles in 85 minutes, bringing the total to 40.62 miles in 14.9 hours. I lost 2.2 pounds this week!! From being too sick to eat, though, so it’s hard to really count that as progress. It does bring the total weight loss to 3.8 pounds.

Ugh. This has been the longest week. I feel like I’m just slogging along, working really hard at going nowhere. The sinus infection, not satisfied to simply infect my face, has spread to my lungs. Breathing is… interesting. Despite the massive amounts of mucus currently clogging my airways, I tried to stick to the training schedule. It went about as well as you would expect.

I’m now two weeks behind. Until I can kick this infection, I don’t see how that will change. The current plan is just to push on as I feel able. I will be at the race on March 31st. If I can run the whole 3.1 miles by then, hooray. If I have to walk some of it, that’s okay.

These races – the 5K in March, the 10K in May, and the 15K in July – are more guideposts than goals. They are what I want to be able to do by that point in the schedule. Do I want to be fit enough to run them, as in run the whole race, no walking? Absolutely. Am I expecting to win? No. Nor is that what I’m pushing for. To say that I’ll be happy just to finish sounds like a cliché, but it’s true.

I’m not an athletic person by nature. I’m the fat kid, the nerd. I took gym in school because I had to. To this day, I cannot do a proper push-up or sit-up. Please understand that I’m not being glib when I say finishing 3.1 consecutive miles will be a big deal to me. If I can do it in under 45 minutes, I’ll be ecstatic.

Countdown to the Make The Break 5K: 6 weeks
Countdown to the Free To Breathe 10K: 13 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 21 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 41 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
