RSS

Day Fifty-One

20 Feb

I’ve found a bunch of neat stuff around the internet in the last few weeks and I thought I’d share with you. Yes, folks, it is time once again for part one of this week’s super mega awesome link dump.

(I feel like there needs to be a theme song here. Something to think about.)

On Book Riot, Edd McCracken gives us “Sixteen Things Calvin and Hobbes Said Better Than Anyone Else.” The list is great, and really made me realize how much I miss Calvin and Hobbes and the profound little nuggets of wisdom. Book Riot is one of my favorite blogs because of insightful, funny posts like this. Also, they love books as much as I do.

LeVar Burton gave a keynote address at the Tools of Change for Publishing Conference last week. (If you don’t know who LeVar Burton is, you’ve been living under a rock for the past three decades. He was Kunta Kinte in the 1977 television mini-series Roots, he was the host of Reading Rainbow from 1983 to 2005, and he was Lt. Cmdr. Geordi La Forge in Star Trek: The Next Generation. Talk about crossing genres.) In his address, he talks about the importance of the written word and the benefits of the evolution of literature. That sounds really dry, but he makes it interesting – I promise. If you have any interest in the publishing industry and where it could be headed in the next several years, this video is well worth your time. Plus, LeVar Burton!

Related to that: The Reading Rainbow theme on YouTube. It’s perfectly acceptable to sing along.

Related to that: Reading Rainbow is coming back on the air!

I have a peculiar love for artist/musician Amanda Palmer. Peculiar because I first admired the woman, then discovered and fell in love with her music. I knew her first as Neil Gaiman’s wife, then as a brilliant artist in her own right. In his travel blog, Justin tells of his similar backward introduction in “Following Amanda Palmer.” (The quotes he grabbed from Amanda’s blog are some of my favorites.)

Speaking of Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer – Neil wrote and directed a short film titled “Statuesque” and starring Bill Nighy and Amanda. It is hauntingly beautiful.

This is something that has been floating around the internet for several months now, but I thought it was important enough to include here: “14 years ago: the day Teller gave me the secret to my career in magic.” Brian Brushwood writes about meeting his heroes, magical duo Penn & Teller, and the advice Teller gave him that changed his career. The advice, the “secret,” can be applied to any creative venture, be it magician, artist, street performer, writer, designer, etc. I won’t spoil it for you because to paraphrase Teller’s words wouldn’t do them justice. This is one of those things that should be read every day.

From feel-good to want-to-punch-something: “You Didn’t Thank Me For Punching You in the Face” by a blogger known as Queen of the Couch (NSFW if your work has a naughty words filter). It’s a look at a type of bullying that I think gets swept under the rug, and one I’m ashamed hadn’t even occurred to me. When I was a little girl, if a little boy pinched me or pulled my hair or chased me at recess and I told a parent or teacher, I was told “That just means he likes you.” When actually, no, it means the little boy has just learned he can physically harm a girl with no repercussions.

I’ll be honest – until I read this post, I never thought of it as anything more than “that means he likes you.” That makes me think I was conditioned to accept physical abuse as proof of attraction, just as boys were conditioned that physical abuse was acceptable. That thought makes me sick to my stomach. Now I’m forced to wonder what I would have told my daughter if she came to me.

David Marquez is an amazing comic book artist, and a Texan. Last week he linked to the super helpful organization TALA, or Texas Accountants and Lawyers for the Arts. These guys provide pro bono legal and accounting services to artists across the state. How awesome is that?

Last but not least, the best tweet of the last week:

Congratulations Craig. That is phenomenal.

More links tomorrow because, hey, why not?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Day Fifty-One

  1. Itinerantics

    February 20, 2012 at 19:35

    Thank you for those links. The Teller one is particularly poignant to me right now as I try to find my voice in writing, in photography, and in life. And I appreciate the nod to my blog as well.

     
    • merrymahaffey

      February 21, 2012 at 07:17

      Thank you for writing about your experiences! Your AFP post was eerily similar to my sentiments, so I couldn’t not include it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
