RSS

Day Fifty-Six

25 Feb

Training to Run the Rock

Good morning, all. Today marks the end of Week 6 of 46! I did 6.31 miles in 2.015 hours this week, for a total of 46.93 miles in 16.915 hours. I lost 0.8 pounds, for a total loss of 4.6 pounds.

I feel like I’m still recovering from my sinus infection – playing catch-up to where I was before I got sick. To be ready for the 5K and make up for the time I lost, I had to rework my training schedule to be both reasonable and effective. Instead of 3 running workouts a week, I’ve gone to 4. That plus the extended time I’m spending on my feet at work (standing, walking, reaching, lifting) will hopefully put me back on track. Still, it feels like March 31st will be here before I know it.

The unexpected benefit of this training is the energy I have at work. I’m awake and alert my whole shift, not tired and more sluggish the longer I work. My lower back and joints don’t hurt like I expected they would. My feet aren’t sore or swollen after a four-hour shift.

This week wasn’t super exciting. I’m just trying to make up for the week and a half I lost without pushing myself too hard or too fast. The last thing I need is an injury this close to race day.

I’m looking into getting new running shoes. Any suggestions?

Countdown to the Make The Break 5K: 5 weeks
Countdown to the Free To Breathe 10K: 12 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 20 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 40 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
