RSS

Day Fifty-Eight

27 Feb

I just got back from the eye doctor. Nothing unusual – just a yearly check-up. My glasses have been bothering me lately and I was curious to see if my prescription has changed. I have an astigmatism and a long family history of major eye problems, so I maintain a ‘better safe than sorry’ attitude when it comes to my vision.

The one thing I hate about an eye exam is dilation. The drops burn and my eyes stay dilated for hours longer than they’re supposed to. As a friend noted, I get to look like an anime character for the rest of the day. The drawback to that is I have no idea if my new glasses are going to work for me. My vision is blurry and it’s hard to focus on anything, with or without the glasses.

I was going to show you what my new glasses look like, but after several minutes and a handful of cellphone self-portraits, I’ve learned a few things. First, I will never like pictures of me. I don’t generally like having my picture taken, but not since age ten have I thought I looked cute in a photo. I was a damn cute kid, though. Second, I have a wonky eye. I don’t know if it’s because of the eye drops or the light sensitivity and headache that resulted from them, but my right eyelid is droopy. I really hope it’s the drops. Otherwise it means I’ve gone through life with a wonky eye and no one told me. Third, either I am ridiculously yellow-tinged, or my phone takes terrible pictures. Given how much time I have spent indoors in the last several months and how old my phone is, I wouldn’t doubt either of those.

Very special thanks to Diana of LensCrafters Mesquite for being awesome, and the staff at the doctor’s office for being super efficient and genuinely nice. Sorry for the lack of pictures. I’ll try to take one again later. Right now, I’m going to go lay down in a dark room and hope this headache goes away.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
