RSS

Day Sixty-Four

04 Mar

I have a really nerdy announcement to make. I just finished watching all 940 VlogBrothers videos. It took me 18 days, but I am now completely caught up with more than 5 years of crazy amazing nerdiness.

I thought I would feel more accomplished, but really I feel tired, and a bit numb from the waist down. (If you’re lost, I talked about this back on Day Fifty-Two.)

Just to be clear, I did not spend the last 18 days doing nothing but watching YouTube. I do have a life, no matter how boring it may seem. For perspective, in the last 18 days I walked/jogged over 20 miles, wrote 18 blog posts, and tweeted 58 times (including retweets and replies). I also worked 12.5 hours at my job, who I still haven’t heard from and have no idea when I’ll get to go back to. Or when I’ll get paid for that 12.5 hours, plus the 6.5 hours of training.

Please don’t think I regret my decision to watch the whole adventure from the beginning. I don’t. At all. I just watched an awesome community grow, come together for the greater good of the world, raise a ton of money for so many amazing causes, and give ridiculously talented people an outlet and an opportunity at greatness. I watched Hank overcome his fear of singing to crowds to performing in front of thousands of people, from singing in the comfort of his basement to owning a record label. I got to listen to John talk about his job as an author in honest terms, and give insight into complicated ideas with simple but profound words.

The last 18 days of my journal are filled with quotes, moments I wanted to remember, funny lines or profound thoughts, and more than 30 books added to my ‘Must Read’ list based solely on Hank’s or John’s (or Maureen Johnson’s) recommendation. John and Hank have reinforced the notion that being a nerd is not something to be ashamed of but something to celebrate. According to John: “Nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff… Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump up and down in the chair can’t control yourself love it. Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what they’re saying is ‘you like stuff,’ which is just not a good insult at all. Like ‘you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness.'” More than the jokes and the memes and the books and the quotes and the sad times and the amazing times, John and Hank have given me the courage to express that enthusiasm, to see the miracle, to celebrate who I am.

But the most important thing that those 940 videos taught me is to never forget to be awesome.

I highly recommend the VlogBrothers. I do not, however, recommend watching the as quickly as I did, unless you want your ass to become one with your desk chair as mine has. Maybe space them out a bit.

A quick side note: Infinite thanks to Ann(e) at LensCrafters Mesquite. (I’m sorry I forgot if she has an ‘e’ at the end or not. I’ll edit as soon as I find out.) She re-re-adjusted my glasses for me and now they fit PERFECTLY!! Thank you so much Ann(e)! You are awesome.

A longer side note: I will be reviewing The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson by Douglas Lindsey on Wednesday, March 7th. I know I said I was pushing book reviews to every 2 weeks. I thought it would take longer to read this book, and I thought I would be working at the framing job. Neither of those things happened. For some books, like Yellow Medicine by Anthony Neil Smith, I will probably take 2 weeks simply because of the length of the text. Or I might chop it into parts. I really haven’t decided. Suffice to say the review will go on this week as scheduled, and I’ll make a judgment call about future reviews as it becomes necessary. I will also start covering more recent stuff, but will do my best to keep the reviews as spoiler-free as possible.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
