RSS

Day Seventy

10 Mar

Today is the end of Week 8! I can hardly believe I’ve been doing this for 8 weeks. I don’t think I’ve ever stuck with a workout program this long. This week I did 13.11 miles in 3.963 hours, for a total of 67.67 miles in 23.252 hours. I had a pretty terrible week, the last two days especially, so I gained back 1.8 pounds for an overall loss of 1.2 pounds.

Yes, I self-medicate with food. In the past it was booze and nicotine, so I consider a few extra Oreo cookies a vast improvement. I know I need to watch what I eat, and I know using my bad week as an excuse is lame. I can only say that I’m doing my best and I can only continue to work hard to improve.

What my fluctuating weight doesn’t show is how good I feel. I’m stronger than I was 8 weeks ago. My endurance has improved dramatically. My sleep patterns have improved as well. My moods are better, my depression less severe, and I’m less prone to the wild mood swings that have crippled me in the past.

The greatest improvement of all? In the past, the news I got Thursday (losing my job) would have put me in a deep dark despair hole for days. Now, I can see it as just another obstacle that I can work past. Instead of moping for a week, I’m taking steps to get back on track. I’m able to take action without my depression taking over and knocking me down. That alone is worth the time and effort of the past 8 weeks.

I’m getting a bit freaked out that the Make A Break 5K is only 3 weeks away. I’m excited, but also a bit apprehensive, a little anxious, but I will not back out. I’m not as ready as I’d like to be, not as strong, not as fast, but I honestly don’t think I would feel prepared if I gave myself an extra month. I’m anxious about the event itself more than my ability to complete it. Recognizing that lets me know I can overcome it.

Countdown to the Make The Break 5K: 3 weeks!
Countdown to the Free To Breathe 10K: 10 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 18 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 38 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
