RSS

Day Seventy-One

11 Mar

I’ll keep it short and sweet today. Here are a few things I’m working on for the coming week:

You guys know I’m a huge Anthony Neil Smith fan. This weekend his latest book, All The Young Warriors, is free through Amazon (US link) (UK link). I will be reviewing it in the near future, so if you want to get your hands on it before I talk about it, now is a good time. If you miss the free weekend promotion, you can always get it from Blasted Heath. (Side note: If your don’t have a Kindle, you can still download Smith’s books from Amazon. None of his books are DRM-locked, and can be easily converted to whatever format you prefer. I use calibre to get Kindle files onto my Nook.)

I was going through some boxes of my grandparents’s old books recently and came across this little gem:

50 Great Short Stories edited by Milton Crane. This book is gorgeous. Everything I love about older books is here: cracked cover, yellowed pages, that terrific smell of degrading paper and old binding glue. This book was well-loved. There’s no name in it, but I’m fairly certain that it was my grandmother’s. The only clue is written on the back in her handwriting:

275
7.13
Shoes

I can only assume she was making an accounting note, which means she got a pair of shoes for seven bucks sometime after December 1962 (when this copy was printed). Possibly the “275” is a check number. I love old books for exactly that reason. It’s not just the stories that the cover contains. It’s the stories about the people who owned them.

I want to start reading and talking about these short stories, but haven’t decided when or how. I’ll let you know when I get it figured out.

Last but not least, Kiva.org is running a promotion for new members. I’ve talked about them before, but Kiva is a great micro-finance organization. The idea is to make a relatively small loan (as little as $25) to an entrepreneur in the developing world who wouldn’t normally qualify for a loan from a traditional institution or bank. If you sign up right now, you can make your first loan for free. Click here for more info, or here to sign up and start lending. Also, if you’re so inclined, you can join the Nerdfighters team, simply because we’re awesome.

That’s what I’ve got for you today, folks. Tomorrow, the ever popular link-a-doodle-day. Until then, DFTBA.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
