RSS

Day Seventy-Two

12 Mar

All right, ladies and gents. Time once again for the weekly linkaliciousness. I’ve got some righteous indignation, some whoa, and some hilarity for you, so let’s get to it.

***

My favorite short story of the week: “Bring It On” by Michelle Ann King, over on Shotgun Honey. Brilliant first line:

Excitement and anxiety feel almost identical to the body, so you might as well tell your brain it’s the former and just say, ‘bring it on.’

As someone who has way too much experience with anxiety, this line grabbed me, made me think, and most importantly, made me want to know more about the person who thought that way.

***

Friday before last, Kirk Cameron was interviewed on CNN by Piers Morgan. In the interview, Cameron said homosexuality is unnatural, and gay marriage is detrimental to society. Tuesday he said in a statement that he was shocked at the backlash his remarks were receiving. John Scalzi wrote this post in reaction to Cameron’s shock. I’ll be honest: I’m glad Scalzi grabbed this and ran with it for several reasons. First, he’s a good writer who easily dissects the situation in a reasonable manner. Second, he has no qualms about stating his opinions clearly and concisely. Third, I had no idea this happened until his post showed up in my RSS reader, and I think this is an important issue, not because it discusses gay rights but because it discusses First Amendment rights. The First Amendment is taking a beating right now in the political arena, and it’s good to see an intelligent take on it. This quote in particular:

You are correct when you say you should be able to express your moral views on social issues, and as a staunch defender of the First Amendment, I will defend to the death your right to say whatever ridiculous, ignorant and bigoted thing that has been fermenting in that cracked clay pot you call a brain pan. But the First Amendment also means that when you say such things, other people have the a right to mock you and the silly, stupid words that have dribbled out of your skull through that word hole above your chin.

Free Speech isn’t a one-way street. You can say whatever you want, but so can I, whether you agree with my opinions/views/beliefs or not. I think that’s the part most people forget or choose to ignore. I, too, would defend to the death your right to say whatever you want, but you have to understand that I have that right too. And there is nothing wrong with you not agreeing with me. That is the only way we can have valid discourse or learn about each other as humans.

(I should note that I did not watch the whole CNN interview. I only got through a minute or so before I wanted to punch something.)

***

(WARNING: Strong language ahead. If your special eyes can’t handle curse words, best to just skip ahead.)

My RSS feeder nearly exploded Tuesday with this post from Regretsy: “Wesley Crusher, Teenage Fuck Machine.” Yep, some moron has self-published erotic Star Trek: The Next Generation fanfic. I have so many problems with this, I don’t know where to start.

  1. The “author,” who calls him/herself Kitty Glitter, is proving the trad-pub elitists argument for them. If any idiot can publish a book, any idiot will. It’s people like this that make self-pub authors look bad.
  2. There’s badly written, then there’s this. This is just insulting to the English language and all those that read it.
  3. It’s fanfic. Look, I don’t have a problem with fanfic. I write fanfic (at FanFiction.Net, if you’re curious). You do not publish fanfic.
  4. It’s bad fanfic. There aren’t any hard and fast rules, but holy shit know the characters and the universe.
  5. It’s illegal. You cannot take someone’s creation, rework it, and publish it for a profit. Copyright Law 101.
  6. Those characters and that universe are beloved by millions around the world. Have a little respect. It takes balls to violate something as beloved as Star Trek as completely as this does.
  7. That image that’s been MS Painted into cover art? That’s not Wesley Crusher. That’s Wil Wheaton, an actor in a costume. There are legal ramifications for using someone’s image without their permission to make a profit.
  8. Using that picture of Wheaton to sell hard-core erotica is just wrong. Icky and wrong. This is offensive in any case, but using Wil like that makes me angry.
  9. Can we just pause for a second and remember that Wil is a person? With feelings and a family? His kids are going to see that. Can you imagine how that makes him feel? As much shit as he took in the 80’s and 90’s, you’d think he would get a free pass from this kind of public humiliation.

It’s not that I don’t have a sense of humor. It’s that I find this sort of thing so appalling, it’s hard to find the humor in it. I could laugh at the author for being so amazingly egotistical as to think this shite deserved public attention, but I just feel sorry for him/her. (Comments in the reviews lead me to believe the author is a man.) More likely, this was an attempt to get rich quick that appears to be working. Since the Regretsy post, the price has been raised from $2.99 to $3.99. Even more reason to be disgusted.

Added bonus link: This is one of the best reviews I seen on Amazon. I can’t tell if it is facetious or not. And to prove that I am a giant nerd, the first thing I noticed was that the reviewer refers to “sensibly bearded Lieutenant Riker,” when everyone knows he was a Commander. Purely an oversight, I’m sure.

***

Speaking of Star Trek: The Next Generation, have you seen the Season 8 twitter feed? It’s hilarious.

Especially when the cast chimes in.

***

Do Some Damage is becoming one of my daily reads. I don’t write crime fiction, but the advice those seven writers give is applicable to all genres. Joelle Charbonneau’s “Are you and your manuscript ready for submission?” is good, solid advice from someone who knows what she’s talking about. Nothing in the article is secret inside knowledge; it’s all common sense stuff that writers forget in their excitement to get published. Like #4: “Your book is not printed on pink, scented paper.” I would never do the pink paper thing, but it never occurred to me that the scent from the candle I have on my desk could get preserved in the envelope with my manuscript. This list is a good reminder that the simplest things can seriously impact whether you get published or not.

***

This made me cry in a “that’s so beautiful, I wish I’d thought of that, I am in awe of this man” way.

Neil Gaiman: The Faces of Fantasy Essay

***

This made me furiously happy. Last week I linked to a VlogBrothers video where John gives relationship advice. This week, because the internet is an amazing place, someone made this:

“The Venn Diagram of boys who don’t like smart girls and boys you don’t want to date is a circle.”

***

This makes me cry. My heart hurts for Heather, aka Dooce, and her family. I wish them all comfort and love. This picture is painfully beautiful and beautifully painful.

Hair, day sixty

The video she posted was supposed to be fun and uplifting, but it made me cry too. Maybe I’m just in that kind of mood.

***

This made me laugh out loud. Leave it to The Bloggess to find something this ridiculous.

DollarShaveClub.com (Strong language warning)

I stole that from this post. Do yourself a favor and subscribe to her blog. You won’t regret it.

***

I mentioned Chuck Wendig’s kickstarter for Bait Dog a few weeks ago. It’s in the home stretch now with only six days to go. It’s at $4790 right now which is $1790 over its original goal, but if it gets to $6000, Chuck has promised to write another Atlanta Burns novel. For one pledge, you get two books, but only if it raises another $1200. This is a project that raised $3000 in less than twenty-four hours. Surely we can get it to $6000 in six days?

***

Last but not least, I want to remind you of the free trial offer from Kiva.org that I talked about yesterday. It’s super easy, and you’ll be decreasing worldsuck with a few clicks of the mouse.

$25 Free Trial Invitation

***

That’s all I have for you today. Thanks for making it all the way through this ridiculously long post. If I missed something you think should be included leave me a comment, send me a tweet (@merrymahaffey) or an email (merry dot mahaffey at gmail dot com), and I’ll check it out. Best wishes!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
