RSS

Day Seventy-Three

13 Mar

I mentioned this on Twitter yesterday, but I thought it would be a good idea to talk about it here.

Bloody Scotland is Scotland’s first international crime writing festival. Billed as “three days of literature, learning, and laughter,” it will be held September 14 – 16 in Stirling. To celebrate this first year, Bloody Scotland has teamed up with Blasted Heath and Glengoyne Highland Single Malt to offer an international short story competition.

There are some pretty fabulous prizes for the winner and the runners-up. Runners-up will have their story published in a collection, published by Blasted Heath. Top prize is publication in the collection, a weekend pass to the festival, the choice of any one week-long residential writing course run by the Arvon Foundation during 2013, and a hand-engraved Glencairn Crystal Decanter filled with an exceptionally rare 35 Years Old Glengoyne Highland Single Malt, worth over £2,000.

Look at this thing. Isn’t it gorgeous?!

You know how much I like Blasted Heath, and I’m a huge fan of 35-year-old single malt. To enter, I have until June 29th to write an original, unpublished 3000-word crime story and pay the £10 entry fee. My question to you guys is: Should I do it? Should I enter? This contest is strictly for amateur writers, so I wouldn’t be up against pros. Just being published in the collection would be huge for me and my career. Yet I’m on the fence.

What do you guys think? Think I should go for it? Let me know in the comments.

Updated to add this pic I found on the Glengoyne website. Too cute.

You’re prize for getting through this selfish, boring post: a video of Neil DeGrasse Tyson discussing the most astounding fact (via Tor.com).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
