RSS

Day Seventy-Nine

19 Mar

So much geekery, so little time! Let’s get this link party started!

***

First, if you didn’t see the nerd-tastic announcements in yesterday’s blog, go check them out – Chris Hardwick, Felicia Day, and the Mythbusters, oh my!

***

Speaking of Felicia Day and her brand new YouTube channel Geek & Sundry, take a peek at the show previews playlist. (Click the “Play All” button to see all 13 videos in order – they’re super short, I promise.) I don’t know if you can tell just how excited I am about all these new shows. A bunch of my favorite people gathered all in one place makes me furiously happy. If I had to pick the one I’m most looking forward to, it would be Wil Wheaton’s “Tabletop”, if only because this is one side of geekdom I haven’t fully explored.

***

Speaking of Wil… For the past seven years, The Morning News (in conjunction with Field Notes and Powell’s Books) has held an annual Tournament of Books where they pit sixteen of the best books published the previous year against each other in a bracket-style tournament. This year they asked Wil to be one of the opening round judges. Wil’s two books were Ann Pratchett’s State of Wonder and Patrick deWitt’s The Sisters Brothers. Take a look at the article to see which book won, and catch a nice hat tip to John Green.

***

Speaking of Nerdfighters… YouTube star, DFTBA Records artist, and Nerdfighter Alex Day (known around the interwebs as nerimon) released the video for his latest single, “Lady Godiva”. It’s a bit cheeky, so it might not be entirely safe to play at work. The single officially comes out April 1, but you can pre-order from HMV or Amazon.

***

Speaking of YouTube… (I have one segue, people. Take what you can get. Or leave me segue suggestions in the comments.) I can’t quite remember how I came across this. The most likely candidates are Twitter (I follow strange and wonderful people) and the suggestion sidebar on YouTube (I watch strange and wonderful things on YouTube). Either way, this is definitely in the running to greatest/weirdest thing on YouTube that doesn’t involve a cat:

That’s right. An hour and a half of ambient Enterprise engine noise. I’ve had it on for about twenty minutes while I write this and I can’t honestly tell if it’s just messing with my tinnitus or if I’m slowly going insane. But wait! You say ninety minutes just isn’t enough for you? You’re in luck! There’s also a twenty-four hour version!

***

Speaking of Star Trek… (Get used to it; it’s a thing now.) Last Wednesday was Pi Day (March 14th – 3/14 – 3.14). I was going to do a whole Pi Day post but couldn’t get my act together. To put a post together now would just be silly, so I’ll just give you the very best thing I found and save the rest for next year. I give you: “How to make the USS ENTERPI” from Instructables.com.

***

A couple of weeks ago (Day Sixty-Five) I talked about the brilliance that is The Bloggess and her quest to get a picture of Nathan Fillion holding twine. This week the California Browncoats offered this bit of encouragement.

***

Did you know that EverQuest is now free-to-play?!

***

I was a Browncoat before I was a Whovian, before I was a Nerdfighter. I love the community that came out of Firefly. The Houston Browncoats saved my life in 2006-2007 with their kindness and generosity. I know first hand the power for good these people have.

(I’ve tried three times to sum up the story I’m trying to share, and I can’t do it without crying or any better than it’s already been told. Read this post from The Consumerist, then this post from Think Geek, then this post from Regretsy, then this other post from Think Geek.)

I don’t ask for much from you guys, but it would mean a lot to me if you would consider making a donation to Wash and Tashi. Visit their Fundly page or Tashi’s blog for various ways to give. Please keep them in your thoughts.

***

Sorry to end on a sad note, but that’s all I have for you today. Come back tomorrow for literary-themed linkaliciousness. Until then, DFTBA.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
