RSS

Day Eighty-Six

26 Mar

Guys, I have a race in five days. AAHHH!!

Welcome to Monday! I have a serious thing, a few cool things, and a few hilarious things to share with you today, so let’s get started.

Serious thing first: There has been a lot of talk lately about reproductive rights, and the lengths some legislators are willing to go to keep women from getting proper medical treatment. Earlier this month, Virginia joined the list of states that require an invasive and likely painful procedure, transvaginal ultrasound, before a woman could receive an abortion. This law is meant to humiliate and intimidate women seeking a legal medical procedure. They can’t outlaw abortion so they are making it as hard as possible to get one.

Enter John Scalzi and his blog, Whatever. A friend of his, a licensed medical doctor, came to him and asked to use Scalzi’s site as a platform to speak out against this legislation. Whatever your religious beliefs or political affiliation, you need to read this post, “A Doctor on Transvaginal Ultrasounds“. It’s informative and insightful, and will make you think.

As for my opinion, I think that my beliefs and ideals have very little to do with another woman’s body. When I got pregnant with my daughter I was poor, alone, and had just dropped out of college. I didn’t have an abortion – not because of some archaic religious doctrine, but because I didn’t think it was the right thing for me to do. I didn’t think it was fair to the fetus. It took a lot of long, hard battles with myself to come to that decision, but ultimately it was my decision, not the decision of my state legislature.

This post, and others like it, need to stay in the spotlight if we’re going to stop this legislative war on women.

***

Deep breath. Let it out. On to the cool stuff!

***

Filming on Ender’s Game has begun. The producers of the film have set up a tumblr to chronicle the process and have provided us with the first on-set photo. I won’t spoil it for you; click through to Tor.com to see it.

I’m trying not to get too excited about this. I want this movie to be amazing, but I don’t think it can live up to my expectations. This is one where I will have to work very hard to separate the book experience from the movie experience.

***

I love books. I love everything about them, every step of the process from idea in a writer’s mind to book on the shelf of my local bookstore. This article in The Telegraph – “Birth of a Book” – is fascinating to me. (Warning: The video in the article starts automatically. This is one of my biggest online pet peeves. Sorry.)

Side note one: I have wanted to learn Coptic stitching (or Coptic binding) for a very long time. It’s neat to see it done large-scale.

Side note two: At the beginning of the video you’ll see a man lay a sheet of red film on a light board, then put it in a machine with a liquid, then pull out a greyish sheet. That’s the old-school way of making printing plates – the sheets that go on the presses to transfer ink onto paper. When I was at the print shop, I made plates in a much easier way – by putting acetone-treated sheets into a laser printer and hitting ‘Print’ in InDesign. Seeing the old-school method was the coolest part of the video for me.

***

I can’t remember where I got this link. It was probably from Hank Green, but I can’t find the source. Regardless, I found it funny and wanted to share:

HasTheLargeHadronColliderDestroyedTheWorldYet.com

***

Eight minutes of footage captured from cameras attached to the Solid Rocket Boosters of the space shuttle. Put your earphones on, sit back, and enjoy the ride. (The description and comments on YouTube explain the “there’s no sound in space!” argument.)

***

The Doctor Who Season 7 trailer is here! Don’t click if you’re trying to avoid spoilers.

***

And finally, the hilarity:

A couple of weeks ago I talked about fan-fiction in regards to a particularly offensive self-pub “book” that was found on Amazon. This week, I found the Ten Commandments of Fanfic Writers. If you’ve ever read or written fanfic, or know someone who has, you’ll probably find this as hi-larious as I did. For the best effect, read it out loud in a mock-preacher baritone.

The thing most non-fanfic people don’t understand is that there really are rules for fanfic. The community of writers and readers, the fans, make the rules. They aren’t set in stone, nor are they hard-and-fast, but certain things are generally understood. This post, while seemingly mocking, hits uncomfortably close to the truth.

***

Last but certainly not least, I leave you with a video I blatantly stole from Wil Wheaton’s blog.

 

The original post is here.

***

That’s what I have for you today. Tomorrow, I’ll probably be talking about race stuff (I get to go pick up my race packet!) or gaming stuff (I finally finished Portal!). Or I could get a wild hair and talk about writing stuff. Who knows. Check back to find out. Until then, don’t forget to be awesome.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
