RSS

Day Eighty-Seven

27 Mar

The freak-out has officially started. I have a race in four days, which give me only three more days to train. All my training so far has been on the treadmill. Tomorrow I will head out to the park for my first real-world test. I hope I can keep pace without the treadmill telling me how fast to go.

Fair warning: I’ll probably talk about nothing but running this week. This race is at the forefront of my mind at all times. I go to bed thinking about it. I dream about it. I wake up thinking about it. I made myself physically ill yesterday worrying about it. Until I get through it Saturday, it is my main focus.

If you aren’t into running or don’t want to watch me go on and on about it, you may want to skip this week’s posts. Come back Sunday – I promise things will be back to normal by then.

Today I drove all over town, running errands for this weekend. I picked up my registration packet from Run On! at Preston and Forest. If you’re in the area, go check them out. The staff is super friendly and very knowledgeable. If you go by, tell Mitch I sent you.

I got my race t-shirt, which I know enough to not wear to the race, and my number – #3251.

Then I went to a comic/gaming store to try to find something for my daughter’s birthday. I went to one I’ve been to before but don’t shop at regularly simply because it was close to Run On. They didn’t have what I needed at all. Should have known. I was pretty upset to be heading home empty-handed and without a clue as to what I could get the kiddo.

Luckily, Lone Star Comics was on the way. Now that I don’t work near Zeus Comics, I have adopted Lone Star as my local comic book store. The store is clean and well-lit, the staff is friendly and helpful, the stock is pretty varied, though they don’t have as many independents as I’m used to at Zeus. The thing I absolutely love about this store is the kids section. They have a corner at the front of the store dedicated to kids comics, games, and geekery. They have a dozen “store demo” games set out so your kids can play while you shop. For a smaller store, their game selection is huge.

I picked up a copy of “Tiny Titans #50” and a card game called Aquarius. They didn’t have her favorite comic, “Strawberry Shortcake”, in stock. She loves the Teen Titans animated series, so I think she will like the comic.

Because I’m a spaz who can’t remember what day it is, I have to go back tomorrow and get the comic I was looking for. For some reason, I honestly thought it was Wednesday.

That’s been my very random day. Now all I have to do is wait for Fed-Ex to bring me a package, and freak-out about the race. I have a feeling it’s going to be a very long, very hard week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Daily

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
