RSS

Day Ninety-One

31 Mar

Training to Run the Rock

Sorry for the late post. It’s been an eventful and tiring day.

Today is the end of Week 11 of 46. This week I did 8.72 miles in 2.249 hours, for a total of 98.39 miles in 32.06 hours. I’m excited to see a steady drop in my weight, down 1.6 pounds this week for a total loss of 6.8 pounds. Not bad for 11 weeks of work – from entirely sedentary to running a 5K.

This week was all about crossing the finish line. I took it relatively easy – I stayed off my treadmill, opting to work my upper body and spend time at the park instead. I’m glad I did it this way. This morning I was rested and ready to go. My muscles weren’t tired or tight. Most importantly, my anxiety was at a reasonable level. I was calm and relaxed because I knew I had done everything I could to get me to that point.

I got to the race staging area early – or what I thought was early. The place was packed by the time I got there. I was jittery – being in such a large crowd alone, not really knowing what I was doing. I felt very self-conscious. Thankfully the volunteers were great. They were friendly and helpful, and didn’t make me feel stupid when I didn’t know what to do with my timing chip. (For the record, it looped around my laces. It’s bright orange, and will stay on my now retired trainers as a badge of honor.)

I started out at a pretty good pace. I found a good stride pretty early and stuck to it. By sheer coincidence, I ended up walking with a group of young women for most of the race. We leapfrogged each other until mile 2. I slowed, feeling a bit sick, and I never caught back up to them.

I walked a majority of the course, running only to cross streets and the last quarter-mile. I ended up with a time of 44:26. I came in 311th out of 410 runners. I’m so proud of myself I can hardly contain it.

Weeks ago I set a goal of 45 minutes. Over weeks of training, I could never seem to get close so I gave it up as unattainable. It wasn’t until my trip to the park on Wednesday that I thought I might make my goal. With the energy of the crowd, the motivation of the other runners, and watching the timer tick over to 45 minutes as I ran past the 3-mile mark, I made it.

(I didn’t cross the start line when the gun went off; I was at the back of the pack so I crossed a few seconds after the official start. My race time was counted by my timing chip as when I crossed the start line until I crossed the finish line. So, I got to watch the official time clock tick past 45 minutes and still came in at 44:26. No wibbly-wobbly, timey-whimey stuff I promise.)

This doesn’t mean training is over, though. I have a long way to go if I want to make it to White Rock in December. I start my new training schedule on Monday. I’m giving myself a day to recuperate before the real work begins. My next goal is running the whole race, with a time under 34 minutes. That means that instead of the Free to Breathe 10K, I’ll be doing the Free to Breathe 5K – same day, same course, just not as much of it. I have seven weeks to get ready. I think I can do it. After what I did today, I’m ready to take on any challenge. Let’s hope that confidence sticks around for a while.

Countdown to the Free To Breathe 5K: 7 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 15 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 35 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in Daily, Running

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
