RSS

Day Ninety-Two

01 Apr

Last week I mentioned some changes I am making to this page. I’ve found over the past three months that I write better when I have a set structure. Having daily categories has been a means to focus. The work is better, and I have more fun doing it when I have that structure.

Instead of writing on whatever topic comes to mind, I will use a schedule to determine the topic for the day. Here’s a more detailed look at that schedule:

Monday: Links – I enjoy putting together this type of post, collecting things from all over the web that I find interesting. These posts will be pretty similar to what they have always been. Most of the links will be geeky or literature-related because that’s what I’m interested in. As always, if you find something that you think I’ll like, send me a link and I’ll see if I can include it. This category will cover the broadest spectrum of what the internet has to offer.

Tuesday: Questions – I admit I stole this idea from John Green who has been doing Question Tuesday on his vlog for years. Here I’ll be giving short, concise answers to your questions. This is your chance to ask me anything. Send me your questions (through Twitter, email, or the comments) by Saturday, and I’ll answer them the following Tuesday.

Wednesday: Reviews – I’ve been doing book reviews for a little while, and though I really enjoy it, I feel it’s a bit limiting. Starting this week, I’ll be reviewing all sorts of things: books, short stories, movies, web series, television, applications, even certain products. I spend most of my day at my computer and there is a ton of stuff out there I wish I knew more about. This way, I get to check out the latest stuff and share it with you. If you have any suggestions for stuff I should take a look at, send me a tweet, email, or leave a comment.

Thursday: Gaming – This is the category I’m most excited about. I’m not a gamer, but I’ve always felt it was something I would really enjoy if I got a chance. Instead of waiting until I have the best, most expensive equipment and have mastered all the most popular games, I’m starting at the beginning and taking you with me. This will be gaming from a n00bs perspective. I think it will be a lot of fun.

Friday: Fiction – No more excuses. I will write a new piece of fiction, between 500 and 1000 words, every week. Sometimes it will be a flash fiction challenge, sometimes it will be fan-fiction, sometimes it will be worldbuilding for my as-yet-finished novel, and sometimes it will whatever I can think of when I sit down to write. This is the most selfish category, as this will be where I try out new structures, new perspectives. This will be me going about the work of writing for you to see. I know I will learn quite a bit, and I hope that by seeing my mistakes and struggles, you will learn as well.

Saturday: Running – This will be the same as it has been since January. I have thirty-five weeks until the White Rock Marathon. I will continue to update my training, my progress, and share my triumphs as I work toward that 26.2 miles.

Sunday: Discussion – Similar to Question Tuesday, this will be where I take one or two questions and give in-depth answers, opinions, or advice. My hope is to start a conversation, or at least give you something to think about. I don’t want this to be entirely one-sided. I’m hoping to learn from you and your opinions, to see your perspective, so I can have a well-informed opinion.

You’ll see a few formatting changes as well. From now on, every entry will be linked to a category. These categories will be listed at the bottom of each post, as well as on the side-bar on the home page. By clicking on one of them, you will be taken to every entry listed in that category. For example, if you click ‘Running‘ you will see a page with this post and yesterday’s post. I hope this makes it easier to find exactly what you’re looking for, without searching through a ton of posts.

I’m excited about these changes and I hope you are too. There will be other changes over the next few weeks, but they are much smaller than the new structure. I look forward to your feedback so let me know what you think.

 

Leave a Reply

 
