RSS

Day Ninety-Eight

07 Apr

Training to Run the Rock

Week 12 of 46, done! I did 6.16 miles in 1.667 hours this week, for a total of 104.55 miles in 33.727 hours. My weight loss has stayed pretty steady, down 1.4 pounds this week bringing the total loss to 8.2 pounds.

I started breaking in my new shoes on Monday, and by Wednesday had decided they were too big. Thankfully Silas, the manager at Lady Foot Locker, is awesome and let me exchange them for a smaller size. He didn’t have the same color in stock, so I got these instead.

I like that they’re just a bit girly without being sickening. More importantly, they fit my feet really well. I’ve done a few miles in them already and they fell pretty good. I’ll have to get used to the new insoles (I have a high arch, so that’s a pain in more ways than one) and better ankle support, but that will come in time. Right now, I’m just taking it a mile at a time.

I made a few changes to my routine that make it seem like I’m going backward. Before the race, my average workout was around 3 miles with a pace of 18 minutes per mile. This week I started over with the ‘Couch to 5K‘ plan so I can learn to run and increase my stamina slowly but steadily. For the next few weeks, each workout will only be around 1 mile long, but my pace will increase. I also changed the incline of my treadmill, from a slight incline to level. I’m already seeing improvement from this one simple change.

In all the excitement last week, I forgot to post the full results from the race:

Click the picture for the full list.

I still can’t believe I came in under my goal time. Makes me smile, just remembering the moment I crossed the finish line. It’s the first moment of pure happiness and accomplishment that I’ve had in a long time. I can’t wait to feel that way again.

Countdown to the Free To Breathe 5K: 6 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 14 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 34 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 7, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
