RSS

Day One Hundred

09 Apr

Last week was weirdly emotional for me. This week, I’m tired of crying. This list of stuff that makes me furiously happy. Please to enjoy.

***

Ender’s Days. I’m trying really hard to not get excited about the production of the Ender’s Game movie. I love the book, and while I know that books and movies are completely different monsters, I’m still moderately apprehensive. I agree with John Green – it’s not the plot that must be perfectly portrayed, it’s the characters. Plots that work in books don’t work in movies, and vice versa. I’m okay with that. All eight Harry Potter movies do not follow the plot of the books exactly, yet they are some of the best movies ever made and they stayed true to the Harry Potter universe.

That said, this post on the Ender’s Game production tumblr put most of my fears to rest. I won’t post the pic in case you’re trying to avoid spoilers, but it’s worth taking a look at to read the description. Specifically this bit:

“Aramis, Moises, Asa & Suraj […] and the rest of our cast agreed that to do Ender’s Game right, they had to train as though they were really headed into ZERO G. [… The] week at [REDACTED] was genuine prep for the feeling of reality that this movie deserves. And after all, the army that trains together stays together.”

Color me relieved. And, for the record, excited.

***

It’s Script Frenzy time! 100 pages in 30 days – the “other media” arm of the NaNoWriMo universe started on April 1. Thousands of writers are slaving away to get to 100 pages of original scripted material (screenplays, stage plays, graphic novels, TV shows, web series, you name it – as long as it’s scripted, it counts) by midnight April 30. It’s not too late to start! As of today, you have 22 days to go, and I promise it can be done. I wrote my graphic novel script in 11 days last year. It’s terrible and will probably never see the light of day without HEAVY edits, but I did it. So can you.

Yes, I’m participating again this year. I’m writing Teen Titans scripts. Because if you’re going to go geeky, you might as well go all the way.

***

My short story pick of the week: Guilty Hands by Charlie Wade, over on Shotgun Honey. There is a ton of emotion and tension in these 400 words. Well worth a few minutes of your time. It’s so hard to describe short stories without giving anything away. What I can say is I really liked this story, and I think it will stick in your brain like it’s stuck in mine.

***

From Tor.com:

What happens when all the expendable ensigns on the exploring starship start comparing notes?

You get the story contained in Redshirts, the new forthcoming book from the award-winning John Scalzi, out from Tor Books on June 5th.

I’ve been looking forward to Redshirts for months now, ever since Scalzi posted the cover on his website. Right now, all registered users of Tor.com can read the first four chapters FOR FREE! Registration is free and painless, too, so why not click over and take a peak?

***

One of the coolest things I’ve seen this week:


(H/t to Laughing Squid)

Can I just say… I don’t always agree with him, but seeing the President of the United States of America geek out makes me feel infinitely better about the state of the country. And Nichelle Nichols looks amazing!

***

Thanks to Dooce, I have a new favorite band: Delta Spirit. Click through to hear “California” off their latest album, and “Bushwick Blues” from their previous album. The first time I played them, I thought they were pretty good, but not exactly my style. An hour later I couldn’t get them out of my head. Watch the videos, listen to the music, but pay special attention to the words. (Surprisingly, these are the first songs in two weeks that didn’t make me cry. Weird.)

***

Speaking of music that makes me cry in a bittersweet sort of way: In celebration of the new Geek & Sundry channel, the cast of The Guild made a new music video, “I’m the One That’s Cool”.

Lyrics, credits, and purchase links are in the description at YouTube. If you’re wondering if I now own this track, you’re damn right I do.

***

The right people will find the hilarity in this…


(via Dooce)

The Riker Lean, a move on par with the Picard Maneuver, is but one of the many endearing things about ST:TNG. Though I wonder if this was less characterization and more Frakes’s way of staying in the frame.

***

Last but not least, the nerdiest Easter eggs I could find: Pantone Easter Eggs. Thanks Laughing Squid!

***

That’s it for this week. If you find something I missed, send me a link and I’ll try to include it in a future post. Be sure to send questions, comments, and random science jokes to me through Twitter, email, or in the comments below. And as always, DFTBA.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Links

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
