RSS

Day One Hundred & Eight

17 Apr

Hey look! It’s Question Tuesday!

1. Did you take a nap today?
No. I rarely nap during the day unless I’m sick. Napping screws up my sleep cycle and makes it nearly impossible to go to sleep when bedtime rolls around. I have insomnia, so any little change in my sleep pattern can mess me up for a week or more.

2. What was your high school’s mascot?
I went to three different high schools: Azle High School (the Hornets); West Mesquite High School (the Wranglers); North Garland High School (the Raiders).

3. Ever been on a cruise?
Nope. If I ever get a chance to go on one of Jonathan Coulton’s cruises or a Browncoat cruise, I’m taking it, but the idea of being trapped on a big boat with a few thousand ‘normals’ for a week terrifies me. (If that sentence made zero sense to you, chances are you’re a ‘normal’. There’s nothing wrong with being a normal. I just prefer the company of nerds.)

4. Favorite vacation spot?
Port Aransas, Texas.

5. How many pets do you have?
One – Joey, my black lab.

6. Ever met anyone really famous before?
That depends on your definition of “really famous”. The people I’ve met tend to be famous in certain circles, but not universally recognized. I met Tim Minear at a Browncoat function several years ago. I met David Arquette randomly one night in Houston (I think he was promoting a movie at the time). I met James O’Barr at a fundraiser in Dallas a little over a year ago. And I stood in the same room, breathing the same air, as Thomas Jane and Stan Lee last summer. (Yeah, that’s not really ‘meeting’ them, but I couldn’t get close enough to them without having an anxiety attack.)

7. Favorite actress/actor?
David Tennant.

8. Are you multi-tasking right now?
Yeah, I guess you could say that. I always have a few ideas working in the back of my mind, no matter what I’m doing. That’s the nature of being creative, I think.

9. Could you handle being in the military?
I don’t know. I tried to enlist in the Coast Guard a few years ago, so I suppose I thought I could do it then. Now, I’m not so sure.

10. Favorite fast food restaurant?
Whataburger.

11. Ever take a sobriety test?
Yes.*

12. Do you believe in karma?
To the extent that the western world defines and understands it, yes.

13. Can you speak any other languages?
I used to know American Sign Language, and I took French when I was a kid. I haven’t used either in so long I doubt I could use them to communicate effectively anymore.

14. Do you own a camera phone?
Do they make phones without cameras anymore? I’m pretty sure that every phone on the market comes with a camera. But the answer to the question is yes. I have a hand-me-down iPhone 3GS. I’m trying to wait for the iPhone 5 before I get an upgrade, but they keep pushing back the release date.

15. Joe asked: “And there is bound to be a story behind ‘Excluding my own, yes’.”
(The original questions was “Ever been to a wedding?”)
That’s an oops on my part. I meant “other than”, not “excluding”. As for my wedding, it was a mess from the very beginning and I’d rather forget it ever happened. I’m sure my ex-husband would agree.

That’s all for this week. Remember to leave your question in the comments, send me an email, or ask me on Twitter so I can include it next week.

*Many years ago, on the side of the highway at 3 in the morning. And yes, I passed.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2012 in Questions

 

2 responses to “Day One Hundred & Eight

  1. gridlockjoe

    April 20, 2012 at 22:18

    Here are my answers to #6: Much as your list, mine tend to be famous in certain circles.

    Fandom: Paul Darrow, Michael Keating, George Takei, Michael Dorn, Jon Pertwee, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Sophie Aldred, Terry Nation, L. Sprague de Camp, J. Michael Straczynski, Summer Glau

    Television: Drew Carey, Wayne Brady, Ryan Stiles, Colin Mochrie, Brad Sherwood, Greg Proops, Tim Conway, Tom Poston, James Burke, Graham Kerr

    Music: Micky Dolenz, Roger Whittaker, Basia

    Journalism: Paul Harvey, John Chancellor

    Politics: Mark White, Phil Gramm

     
    • merrymahaffey

      April 21, 2012 at 09:45

      Funny how that works. But people like us tend to want to meet people we admire for more than their ability to be “famous”.

       

Leave a Reply

 
