RSS

Day One Hundred & Nineteen

28 Apr

Training to Run the Rock

We’ve come to the end of Week 15. Ugh. This week I ran 7.25 miles in 1.848 hours, for a total of 127.2 miles in 38.638 hours. Spending the last 3 weeks sick and not running for the past 2 days has brought my weight up 3 pounds since last week, effectively killing 2 solid months of progress and bringing the grand total back to just 3.6 pounds lost.

I’m still sick, and have the energy of a half-dead sloth. It took everything I had to force myself to get on the treadmill at all this week. I’m so far behind in my training I honestly don’t know if I’ll reach my goal by race day. I’m getting discouraged, and nothing is keeping me motivated but sheer force of will. That and public humiliation.

On top of the chest cold, I have somehow managed to twist my knee. It’s not too bad now but I could barely walk Thursday. If I can’t walk I certainly can’t run, so that put be even more behind. It’s almost like my body is trying to keep me from exercising and getting healthy. That’s not entirely ridiculous, either. My anxiety makes my body do all kinds of weird things just to keep me out of social situations, like debilitating stomach cramps or excessive sweating right before I meet someone or go somewhere new. Yeah, it’s about as much fun as it sounds. All I can do is keep pushing myself, hoping I push past all the aches and pains, because race day will be here before I know it.

Countdown to the Free To Breathe 5K: 3 weeks
Countdown to the Too Hot to Handle 15K: 11 weeks
Countdown to the White Rock Marathon: 31 weeks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 28, 2012 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
