RSS

Day One Hundred & Thirty-One

10 May

I’ve mentioned, somewhat repeatedly, that I got my inspiration for table-top gaming from Wil Wheaton and Scott Kurtz, and for RPG’s from Felicia Day. What I haven’t mentioned as often is my inspiration for video games – Hank Green.

Hank is the younger half of the VlogBrothers, one of my favorite channels on YouTube. Taking inspiration from YouTube gamers like Toby Turner, Hand decided to start a gaming channel of his own, Hank Games. He started back in November of 2010 with Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood and has since played a dozen games, often with his wife Katherine, his brother John, or his friends Charlie and Michael.

I started watching these videos in February and found them so entertaining I watched most of them straight through over the course of the next few weeks. I was immediately drawn to the Assassin’s Creed series. I loved the gameplay so much that without knowing anything about the series other than what I had seen Hank play, I bought the first two games for myself. They were the first video games I’ve bought in over a decade.

The best part about the Hank Games channel is the variety of games he plays. He’s played action-adventure games like Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood and Assassin’s Creed: Revelations. He’s played children’s games like Lego Harry Potter and Lego Pirates of the Caribbean (with his wife, Katherine). He’s played puzzle games like Portal, Portal 2, and Portal 2 Co-op with his friend Charlie. He’s played sports games like FIFA 11 with his brother John. John enjoyed the game so much, he has continued to play on his own, recently completing the third season with the Swindon Town Swoodilypoopers with a stunning FA Cup win.

The highest compliment I can give is to say I have been inspired. I am interested in new types of games because of Hank and Katherine and John. Games I would have never considered as something I would enjoy are now some of my favorites. They inspired me to broaden my gaming horizons, try new things, and most importantly, to have fun.

If you haven’t seen a Hank Games video, I highly recommend you check them out.

Have any ideas for games I should be playing, or a gaming-related story I should see? Leave a link in the comments, on Twitter, or in an email and I’ll take a look! And as always, don’t forget to be awesome!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 10, 2012 in Gaming

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Day One Hundred & Thirty-One

Leave a Reply

 
