RSS

Day One Hundred & Fifty-Two

31 May

I’m up to my eyeballs in video games right now (having a new PS3 will do that to you), but I know you guys are tired of hearing how awesome Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood is (it’s ridiculously f$@#ing awesome). Today, let’s go old school and talk about Chrono Trigger.

Chrono Trigger is an RPG originally released for the Super Nintendo in 1995. It was developed by a team led by the guys that created Dragonball, Dragon Quest, and Final Fantasy. The “revolutionary gameplay” it introduced paved the way for RPGs today.

The story follows Crono and his friends Marle and Lucca (among others) as they travel back and forth in time trying to save the kingdom. … I’m trying to come up with a better description, but that’s as basic as it gets. This story is so complicated, with so many twists and turns, many of which are based on character choices, that trying to explain it makes my brain hurt.

I’m not very far into the game – maybe 20% through – but not for lack of trying. Gameplay isn’t fast, it’s methodical. You have time to make choices and consider options. Things you do early in the game affect later events. For a product marketed to children, this game addresses some serious moral and philosophical questions.

So far I’ve really enjoyed Chrono Trigger. The story is interesting. The graphics are better than I expected. The fights are hard but not impossible. The only annoyance is the lack of save points, but it’s a minor annoyance. If you’re looking for an old school RPG, I highly recommend giving it a try.

Got a recommendation for me? Console, browser, table top, or card – I’ll try them all! Leave me a comment, a tweet, or an email. And as always, don’t forget to be awesome!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2012 in Gaming

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
