RSS

Day One Hundred & Fifty-Nine

07 Jun

I’m sure you guys are tired of hearing about Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, so today I thought I would give you the things I’m most looking forward to that have been announced at E3 so far.

First up… Wait for it… Assassin’s Creed III.

Whatever draws you to video games, you will find something to love with this game. The graphics are stunning, the story (or what we know of it at this point) is on par with previous AC titles, and it looks like the gameplay is just as intuitive as previous titles. From what I’ve seen, you don’t have to know the entire series – you can just jump in and start stabbing Templars in the face with your hidden blade. (Side note: Yes, I will be playing AC: Revelations before I play ACIII. Because I’m a completest.)

In the “Game I didn’t know existed but now can’t wait to get my hands on” category, I give you Watch Dogs.

With the avalanche of first person shooters and zombie titles, I was pleasantly surprised by this title from Ubisoft. As a writer, I have a special place in my heart for stories that take one minor fact and turn it into a huge event. In the case of Watch Dogs, an exploitation of our power grid (minor fact) becomes the basis for a network of Watch Dogs that use our communications networks for their own benefit (huge event). Watch Dogs looks great, and seems to be just as much a puzzle game as it is a shooter. I love crossing genres, so this game seems right up my alley. I’ll have this one queued up on my reserve list as soon as we get a release date.

In the “Game I’m most looking forward to playing with my daughter” category, I give you Ni No Kuni.

This game is beautiful, but also has interesting gameplay. It’s not just pretty to be pretty, which is fantastic in a world of FPSs marketed to men and “pretty” games marketed to women. This is a real RPG, and I think will be a great introduction to the genre.

In the “I can’t believe I actually want to play that” category, Tomb Raider:

and God of War: Ascension.

I know next to nothing about these two franchises, but these demo’s sold them for me. The fact that Lara Croft feels pain and acts like she’s been injured, that falling into a tree actually affects gameplay, is huge for me. Especially considering I’m used to Ezio falling off towers all the time with only a grunt and loss of health squares as a consequence. And God of War is simply spectacular. Those graphics are mind-blowing.

Finally, in the “Best Recap” category, Wil “Scoop” Wheaton:

My favorite part of his recap? The Geek & Sundry and TableTop t-shirts. Marketing – you’re doing it right, sir.

That’s what I have for you today. If you see something I missed or have a recommendation for me, hit me up in the comments or on Twitter. And as always, don’t forget to be awesome!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Gaming

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
