RSS

Day One Hundred & Seventy-Three

21 Jun

The plan for today was to write up a beautiful, glowing review of LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes. Unfortunately, my PS3 had other plans.

I don’t typically review things until I finish them, usually not until I read/watch/play through them twice. I think it’s important to follow this as closely as possible. That way you can trust what I say about it, and I can write a better review.

I’ve played enough LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes to tell you I love it, that it’s one of the most entertaining ways I’ve spent my time in a while. But I’m only about 3% through the game so I don’t feel comfortable offering a review.

The problem is… My PS3 is having issues. I don’t know if it’s just being cranky now that it’s summer and 90°+ outside, or if it’s having a major crisis. I do know that it has crashed on me 3 times – once in the middle of a level and twice during the first loading sequence. Honestly, this is frustrating as hell. Especially since I don’t know how to fix it and won’t be able to get a replacement until next week.

Instead, I can give you a mini-review of Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood.

I’ve played through AC:B 3 times now. The first time, I tried to experience everything – all the side missions, all the collections, everything the game has to offer. I fell a bit short, especially on the guild challenges, so that was my focus on my second play through. The problem there was I knew what to expect, which missions were tougher, which challenges I wasn’t going to get full synch on (I suck at timed challenges), and how to get the stuff to make a badass Assassin very early in the game. It was fun, but not as fun as the first time. The third play through was a challenge of how fast I could get through all the sequences with as little as possible. I bought no armor (other than what the game makes you buy), upgraded no weapons, and recruited only as many assassins as absolutely necessary. It was the most boring, most frustrating gameplay I’ve ever experienced.

And there is the only problem I have with AC:B – replay value. It has very little. In a month or so when I’ve played other games and the memory isn’t as new, maybe I’ll try it again. As it stands right now… I really enjoyed it the first time through, and I doubt I’ll enjoy it like that again. It’s a one-time-use game and that’s disappointing.

Overall, I give it a 4 out of 5. The graphics are great, the story is fantastic (to the point of me becoming emotionally involved with the characters), the score is good (a bit repetitive after you’ve finished the game, but then so was everything else), and the gameplay was excellent. I highly recommend this game, and this series, to anyone who likes action/adventure, or is looking for something new to get into. I’m looking forward to playing Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, and can hardly wait for Assassin’s Creed III to come out in October.

Got a recommendation for me? Console, browser, table top, or card – I’ll try them all. Leave me a comment or find me on Twitter. And as always, don’t forget to be awesome!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2012 in Gaming

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
