RSS

I Think I’m Doing This Wrong

05 Dec

So… It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Feeling a bit embarrassed by that, but I don’t know if I have anything significant enough to share. I guess I’ll just string a bunch of little things together and hope it comes to something worthwhile in the end.

I won NaNoWriMo with a dazzling 50156 words in 30 days. More like 15 days, actually. I skipped the entire week of Thanksgiving, and most weekend days. My goal was 60000, so I fell a bit short, but still won by general standards. The book is not finished, not even half-way done. I went a bit overboard on the beginning, and am now just trying to get to “The End” so I can start rewrites. There is so much to fix, but I am so determined to finish the shit that I started that I will not let myself start over. My ultimate goal is 100000 – 120000 words when it is all said and done. I’ll let you know how that goes.

(No, I will not tell you what the book is about so don’t ask. It completely screws up the way I write, i.e. makes it unnecessary to finish the story because I have already told it to you. Yeah, it’s a weird writer thing.)

I started running again. I found a routine that isn’t as intense or strict as the one I was using earlier this year. Hopefully I will be running my first (second) race in late March. I would love to run the Make The Break 5K again, but only if I can beat last year’s time.

I have been reading quite a bit more than usual lately. I finished John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars, John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War, and Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother in rapid succession. Last night I started Annie Proulx’s short story collection Close Range with what is probably her most famous story, “Brokeback Mountain”. That story (and the movie) give me a string of complex emotions that I am having trouble processing. I think it will take a reread or two to fully come to terms with what she makes me feel, or even begin to understand it. There is the added bonus of the amazing story structure that I want to analyze and figure out why it works so damn well. If you haven’t read the story, even if you didn’t like the movie, I highly recommend you get your hands on a copy if only for the technical writing bits. This story should be taught in university classrooms for the structure alone.

I’ve also just recently finished reading Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. I separate it from the list above because… I hate Jane Austen. There, I said it. I hate her writing style and her trite and silly characters and her unrealistic resolutions and her terrible terrible stories. Except… Well, I hadn’t actually read any of her stories. I’d started Sense and Sensibility once for an English class (in which I was determined to hate every book I was required to read) but never actually made it all the way through. I judged the woman’s entire career on my teenage angst, and as with most anything judged in that lens, found her wanting. The only reason I voluntarily opened the pages (or rather, downloaded it to my Nook) was because of Hank Green. Hank started a little web series called The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, a modern adaptation on Austen’s classic story. I absolutely adore the LBD and because of my Read It First rule, I was honor-bound to read P&P.

I’ll be honest: I didn’t expect to like it. I expected to get through it, to survive the ridiculous language and ridiculous situations. I certainly didn’t expect to love it, but I do. I admit I was wrong on almost every count (the language is ridiculous and the situations silly, even in the context of the time period, but not wholly unbelievable). The best part of finally reading the book is I get to see what they changed with the adaptation, and get to look forward to how they handle certain plot points I know are coming.

I am seriously considering getting a Tumblr account. I recently noticed that over half of the blogs I follow through RSS (yes, I still use RSS) are tumblogs. The hesitation I have is that I will treat it like Pinterest: get lost down the rabbit hole of posts for hours at a time (seriously, I’ve spent the last 2 days looking at Hawkeye posts), then utterly ignore it. Also, what the hell my url would be because it has to be witty and obtuse without being so obscure that no one gets it. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

I have not been playing my ukulele as much as I would like. I tried to use it as a reward for making my daily NaNo word count goal but that didn’t work out as well as I had hoped. I would either hit my goal too late at night to practice, or my wrists would be so tired after I hit my goal that it hurt to even think about pressing the strings to the frets. I haven’t been playing video games much either, for much the same reasons. I tried playing while walking on my treadmill and quickly discovered that if I played in the morning, I had trouble concentrating all day. I’m so very easily distracted, I decided to not add to the problem and just quit playing. I have Assassin’s Creed III and LEGO Lord of the Rings waiting for me at the video game store, so I’m sure I’ll get back into gaming soon.

That’s what has been going on with me for the last month. I will try to stop by more often, but until this manuscript is done I can offer no guarantees. I am also toying with the idea of restructuring the blog at the beginning of the new year, but haven’t quite made up my mind what I want to do with it. As with everything else, it will probably have to wait until I hit the end of this rough draft. Which I will do if it kills me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2012 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
