RSS

Goodbye 2012

26 Dec

Yep, another one of those year-end wrap-up posts. This year was pretty eventful for me, in a lot of different ways. I made new friends, started new hobbies, went places and did things that I never thought I would have the courage to do. I loved, and was loved. Sure I cried some, but I laughed more.

Without intending it to be, this was a year of intense self-discovery. I know myself better now than I did a year ago. I know who I am, who I want to be, and where I want to go with a clarity that I’ve never had before. It’s been a year of soul-searching, making mistakes, failing, and then failing better. I don’t have it completely figured out yet, and that’s okay.

Overall it has been a fun year. I wrote more, played more, experienced more than previous years. I let myself be silly and vulnerable. I gave myself permission to laugh, to make mistakes, to take risks, to have adventures. I fell in love at least three times.

Not everything was great, mind. I lost my dog to bone cancer. I was hurt by people I loved, and who I thought loved me. I quit things that were important to me, out of frustration or ego or emotion. Things I wanted were given to me, just to be snatched away again.

But I can see these things for what they are, allow myself to feel the emotions that come with them – the disappointment, the hurt, the anger – and move on with my life. The good outweighed the bad, and I can find good in almost all of it.

What’s coming in 2013? Who knows. I want to write here more. Not as much as the first six months of 2012, but more than the last six. I’m aiming for two decent-length posts a week, one about running and the other about whatever. There are things that are more important to me than running, like gaming, but writing about it here helps me hold myself accountable. Speaking of which, I want to run more. At least three times a week, at least 1.5 miles a run. I want to read more, so I’m planning to read a book a week. This shouldn’t be too hard, considering how fast I read, unless it’s something incredibly long or dense like Anna Karenina or A Game of Thrones. I want to do more, have more adventures, get to know more people. I want to take risks and experience new things.

I want to write more. I’m planning to finish two books this year, the one I started in November and haven’t finished yet, and one I’ll start around the time I finish the final drafts of the other one. You’ll notice a new ‘Work in Progress’ bar on the right side of the page. I will be updating it daily for whatever my current work-in-progress is, be it words written or pages edited.

That’s what I have going for this year. There are other outrageous things that are more dreams than goals – certain people I want to meet, certain places I want to go, certain things I want to do. I don’t know If I’ll get to live those dreams in the coming year, but I know I will eventually. All in all, I am really looking forward to the new year and all the new and exciting things that come with it.

Here’s to 2013, and all the adventures that await us. Happy New Year, y’all.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 26, 2012 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
