RSS

This Week in Running

27 Jan

Ugh. You ever have those weeks that you wish you could redo? Not the ones where you screw something up terribly or make an ass of yourself, but the ones where you just don’t accomplish a lot and you wish you had. I accomplished almost nothing this week. I kept putting stuff off, telling myself I would get to it later in the day then running out of day to get it done.

I told myself that I would get back on track as soon as the book’s done (I’m writing a book. Don’t know if I told you). Well, the book is almost done. If I wait too much longer, I’ll be so far off track I’ll have to start over. So, next week I’m doing a jump-start.

A jump-start for me is a week of workouts meant to get me back in the habit of working out. The daily routines aren’t that difficult – and that’s the point. My main goal isn’t to advance to the next level or see how hard I can push myself. It’s just to prove that I can make time to workout every day, no matter what else I have going. It’s seven days of no excuses.

You guys know that I’m a massive fan of Amanda Palmer. Last night, she called on her fan-base to join her in what some are calling AFPLent. She asked us to join her on The Wagon. She has challenged herself to lay off wine for the month of February (and the last week of January). Other members of the community have promised to stop drinking alcohol, stop smoking weed, or stop drinking soda. Me, I’ve promised to lay off sugar.

I had a scary moment last week when, after a pretty intense workout, I noticed that my blood sugar was dangerously high. Now, I don’t have diabetes and I knew that my body would take care of the situation, but it was still kind of a wake up moment. I’ve started drinking more soda and less water every day, without even realizing I’m doing it. So, as of today, no sugar. That means no sugar in my coffee, no soda with my lunch, no candy or cookies after dinner. It means re-committing to my almost-vegetarian diet. And hopefully it means losing the two pounds I managed to gain in the past three days.

That’s a lot of changes in one week, but I’m confident that I can do it. If I’m serious about losing weight and getting healthy, I should be able to prove it. I’ll let you know how it goes.

(Join the community at this thread on The Shadowbox or follow along on Twitter with the hashtag #TheWagon.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2013 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
