RSS

Status Report

27 Feb

A week and a half since my last post? I’m really bad at this blog thing, you guys. Here’s a bit of what’s been going on.

– I hit the half-way point in my third draft. Edits are coming along nicely. The things I’m changing from draft to draft are making the story better, the telling cleaner, the structure tighter. I really like where this story is going, and I think you will too. I’m looking to start the next major piece of writing on Monday. It’s part of the same project and will be somewhere around 50000 words. I’m super excited about it. If I can pull it off, it will be a brilliant addition to the story.

– My baby girl was in her first school program last Thursday. She was a dancer in their Black History Month presentation. She was the youngest student asked to participate. I know I’m biased, but she was too freaking adorable. (Sorry, I won’t be posting any pictures. Call me weird, but I have a problem with posting pics of other people’s children.) I’m so incredibly proud of her. Yes, I cried.

– I discovered that my kiddo isn’t burdened with my crippling anxiety and stage fright. She was a little nervous at first, but by the time it was her turn to go on, she got out there and danced with the rest of the kids like a champ. She had a great time. I cannot tell you how relieved I am. I’m not a doctor, of course, but I don’t think she has ever exhibited any signs of depression. Maybe, just maybe, my darling didn’t inherit this terrible affliction.

– I have been off sugar for 32 days. That means no sugar in my coffee, no sweets in the afternoon or after dinner, no soda, no Valentine’s candy. I went on the wagon with Amanda Palmer back in January. She was abstaining from wine until her TED talk was written and delivered. Members of the community joined her as a show of support and gave up things like alcohol, Facebook, soda, weed, coffee, and junk food. We called it AFPLent because why the hell not. Some have stayed on. Some fell off hard. I managed to make it all the way through. Today, Amanda gives her talk at TED 2013 and brings an official end to AFPLent. I am going to tear into my box of Valentine chocolate so hard tomorrow…

– I might gain back all the weight I’ve lost. Just kidding. I have more self-control than that. Hopefully. I will miss my monthly goal (unless I can lose 5 pounds by tomorrow morning), but I am making progress. My next goal is at the end of May, so I have 3 months to lose 15 pounds. Totally doable.

– I think I will start running outside instead of on my treadmill. This is by necessity, not choice, as I think my treadmill is dying. It scared the hell out of me yesterday. I was going along, most of the way through my workout, when it decided to start speeding up. All on its own. I don’t know if there was a surge in the socket that caused the motor to go into overdrive or if it’s just possessed by demons. Fingers crossed for demons.

– I am on week 6 of the epic Sense & Sensibility read-through. It didn’t take me this long to read LOTR the first time. I don’t know what it is about this book, but I just cannot get into it. I can’t stand most of the characters. There is no one I find compelling enough to get behind. All of them are whiny, overly dramatic assholes. The only character I’ve actually enjoyed is Colonel Brandon, and he’s so on the periphery we don’t really know what’s going on with him until he info-dumps in the middle of Mrs. Jennings’s parlor. At this point, my determination to finish is fueled not by desire to know the end of the story, but an iron will that this book will not defeat me. I will finish S&S by Sunday or I will spend the entire day reading as punishment. If you don’t see me on Twitter Monday morning, you will know that this book has killed me.

– I am still looking for a “real job” (you know, since writing is clearly a “fake job”). I’ll take anything at this point. Seriously. I’ve worked in warehouses in the dead of winter and outside in the middle of summer. I’ve worked in offices, movies theaters, department stores, and restaurants. I’m willing to try almost anything and I’m a very quick learner. I have a pathetically slim resume due to time spent in college, raising my daughter, and writing. If you know about or are offering an open position and are willing to give me a chance, I would love to send you my resume and contact information. My email address is merry (dot) mahaffey (at) gmail.

– I’ve been doing a lot of thinking (when I’m not doing my fake job) and I’ve made a few big decisions. I’ve got some big plans in the works, and I’m really excited to get started on them. They have nothing to do with writing, or my current manuscript, or anything I’ve done previously. It’s a totally new adventure. As soon as I have something a bit more concrete, I’ll let you know. Until then, cross your fingers for me.

That’s all I’ve got right now. I’m still playing my ukulele and various video games when I can, which isn’t nearly often enough. My “To Be Read” comic pile is stacking up and my DVR is filling with shows I haven’t had time to watch yet. When this manuscript is finally done, I’m taking a week off just to catch up. Until then, it’s back to the word mine I go.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2013 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
