RSS

Music

06 May

30-Day Writing Challenge
Day 6 – What band or musician is most important to you?

Wow, that’s a difficult question to answer. Different bands have been important to me at different points in my life. For a while, it was Nirvana and Bush that got me through the day. At a different time, it was Kenny Chesney and Pat Green. Right now it’s Mumford & Sons and Amanda Palmer.

I guess Amanda is “most important” to me. Her words and her songs speak to me on a different level than any other artist. But I think that has more to do with who she is as a person and less to do with rhyme and meter. I (and most of the public) see her as this strong, opinionated, take-no-bullshit, give-no-fucks woman, but her songs are about insecurity and fear and being strong despite the entire world watching you, waiting for you to fail.

On one hand, I want to be her when I grow up. On the other, I hope she never grows up so I don’t have to.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
