RSS

Playing Favorites

07 May

(Alternate tumblr title: #bitches love libraries)

30-Day Writing Challenge
Day 7 – Do you read? What are your favorite books?

First, I appreciate that it says “books” and not “book” because choosing one book that is my favorite among all of the books ever written is damn-near impossible.

Second, can we take a moment and consider that first question? “Do you read?” Not “Can you read?” or “Do you enjoy reading?” but “Do you read?” Who are these people who don’t read?! I get not being “much of a reader” as some people put it, but are there people who actively avoid reading of any kind? Are there people who have never joined Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, Tumblr, LiveJournal, Reddit; who never get on the internet; who only find entertainment in what they can hear, smell, taste, and see (as long as it doesn’t have words)?

(I feel it necessary to point out that logophobia is a real thing and I am in no way making fun of people who fear words. I’m making fun of people who are so lazy as to actively avoid reading.)

That said, I unabashedly judge people by what and how much they read. I have ended friendships because of books, and I do not regret it.

So, to answer the question, I tend to read more fantasy than anything else – Lord Of The Rings, the Black Jewels trilogy, anything by Gail Carriger. I’ve fallen in love with what’s considered “historical fiction”, or fiction that was written and takes place in certain periods of history – anything by Jane Austen or Elizabeth Gaskell, Little Women, the Sherlock Holmes stories.

My favorite books are the ones I can get lost in, the ones that teach me something, that make me feel something. My favorite kinds of books are the ones with words in them.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2013 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
