RSS

School

24 Jun

30-Day Writing Challenge
Day 24 – How has your school life been throughout the years?

Um. Hard?

Here’s the thing: I loved school when I was younger. I wanted to be a teacher. My favorite game was “school”. Then I grew up and realized just how badly I was being screwed, and began to resent it. Instead of diagnosing my dyscalculia, my teachers told me I was “slow”. Instead of feeding my imagination, my teachers teased me and called me a dreamer like that was something I shouldn’t be. My classmates were mean, but my teachers were worse.

I was a weird, awkward kid. If one teacher had taken the time to guide me or show me that I meant more than a standardized test score, I might have been a better adjusted teenager and young adult. As it was, I had to wait until college (and after) to figure out that it’s okay to be who I am, exactly how I am. It’s okay to be a dreamer – they make the best writers. Dyscalculia is a thing, and it doesn’t mean I’m stupid or slow.

So to answer the question: How was my school life? Terrible, but I’m grateful for the hard lessons it taught me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in Daily

 

Leave a Reply

 
